Fun Facts about the Army Ten-Miler

A record field of 30,000 runners registered to start the 2009 Army Ten-Miler, which featured 21,256 finishers on Oct. 4, 2009 at the Pentagon. Photo by Tim Hipps, FMWRC Public Affairs

Each year tens of thousands of runners and spectators come to Washington, DC to participate in the Army Ten-Miler. Produced by the U.S. Army Military District of Washington, the Army Ten-Miler proceeds support Army Morale, Welfare and Recreation, a comprehensive network of support and leisure services designed to enhance the lives of soldiers and their families. The 2011 Army Ten-Miler is scheduled to take place Sunday, October 9. It starts and finishes at the Pentagon, passing by DC landmarks including the Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument, and the Capitol Building.

The mission of the Army Ten-Miler is for the Military District of Washington to safely conduct the Army’s annual 10-mile race to promote the Army, build esprit de corps, support fitness goals, and enhance community relations.

Check out this list of fun facts about the Army Ten-Miler.

 There are 30,000 registered runners for this year’s race. The first Army Ten-Miler in 1985 had 1,379 runners.

 The 2011 race implemented a priority runner (7+ or more Army Ten-Milers) and US service member early registration.

 701 teams are registered to run.

 Runners come from all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

 International teams and participants from Brazil, Canada, Germany, Switzerland, Australia, Denmark and the United Kingdom are competing.

 99.9% of runners registered online.

 68.5% of runners are from the greater Washington, DC region.

 More than 1,200 Soldiers and civilians support the race.

 There are 13 locations overseas hosting Official Army Ten-Miler sponsored Shadow Runs; over 4,000 runners combined total. The Army Ten-Miler is supporting the races at Bagram Airfield, Camp Phoenix, Camp Clark, Camp Humpreys, FOB Wolverine, FOB Fenty, COB Delta, FOB Sharana, FOB Pasab, FOB Eggers, FOB Wilson,  Kandahar Airfield and Camp Bonsteel. Other locations hosting Shadow Runs are FOB Salerno, COS Kalsu and Shindad Air Base.

 U.S. Army COL Lew Goldberg (Ret.) is back to run in his 27th race; he the only person to run all the races since 1985.

 New records were set in 2009 (25th anniversary) for both the overall male and female categories. Alene Reta captured the male title with a time of 46:59 and Samia Akbar captured the female title with a time of 55:25

 Alisa Harvey (four time overall winner, 2 time master winner), U.S. All Army Team (hold the event record for the International Cup) and Team Raytheon (13 time team winner) are confirmed to run.

 The winner of the annual t-shirt design contest is Jason Siegel, for the second year in a row.

 Over 247,000 runners have run the Army Ten-Miler since 1985.

 Over 50 athletes have signed up for the Wounded Warrior category (active duty blind/visually impaired and amputee athletes) and the Wheelchair category.

 The Army Ten-Miler is awarding both push rim and handcycle wheelchair athletes beginning this year.

Be sure to join/follow the conversation on Twitter using hashtag #ArmyTenMiler and also check out the official Army Ten-Miler Facebook page: